MOTOR FUEL/SPECIAL FUEL TAX
STATUTORY PROVISION: Title 30, Delaware Code, Chapter 51.

COLLECTION/ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCY': The motor fuel excise tax is administered and collected by
the Department of Transportation, Motor Fuel Tax Administration.

GENERAL LIABILITY: Delaware imposes an excise tax on each gallon of gasoline sold or used in the State.
The tax is collected by and paid to the State by licensed distributors. An excise tax is also imposed on the retail
sale or use of special fuel, which includes all combustible gases and liquids suitable for the propulsion of motor
vehicles, except gasoline. The special fuel tax is collected by and paid to the State by licensed users, dealers, or
suppliers.

TAX RATES: The tax rate on motor fuels is 23¢ per gallon; 22¢ per gallon on special fuels.

GASOLINE TAX REFUNDS: The gasoline tax is refundable upon application, for off-highway, taxicab, boat
and airplane use (Form MFT-4).

TAX RECEIPTS

Motor Fuel/Special Fuel Tax
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MOTOR FUEL/SPECIAL FUEL TAX

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY
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Description of Changes

Shifted tax collection and administration responsibilities to the Department of Finance
from the Highway Department (57 Del. Laws ¢ 741).

Increased the gasoline tax rate to 8 cents per gallon, from 7 cents (58 Del. Laws ¢ 289;
HB 505).

Shifted tax collection and administration responsibilities to the Department of Public
Safety from the Department of Finance (59 Del. Laws ¢ 216; HB 444).

Instituted a temporary gasoline tax rate increase to 9 cents per gallon, from 8 cents (59
Del. Laws ¢ 218; HB 550).

Made permanent the temporary 9 cent per gallon gasoline tax (59 Del. Laws ¢ 416; HB
978).

Increased the special fuels' rate to 9 cents per gallon, from 8 cents (60 Del. Laws ¢ 14;
HB 130).

Instituted a temporary increase in the gasoline and special fuel tax to 11 cents per gallon
(61 Del. Laws ¢ 74; HB 157).

Reduced the gasoline and special fuel tax to 9 cents per gallon, from 11 cents.

Raised the gasoline and special fuel rate to 11 cents per gallon, from 9 cents (63 Del.
Laws c 179).

Increased the maximum bonding requirement to $50,000, the retail license fee to $5, the
distributor license to $10, and the special fuel license to $10 (65 Del. Laws ¢ 365 and 368;
HB 643 and HB 647).

Increased the gasoline and special fuel tax rate to 16 cents per gallon (66 Del. Laws c 87;
HB 371).

Increased the maximum surety bond to $100,000 (66 Del. Laws ¢ 97; HB 165).

Transferred jurisdiction for licensing violations to the Justice of Peace Courts, from the
Superior Court System (66 Del. Laws ¢ 273; HB 166).

Increased the tax on gasoline and special fuels to 19 cents per gallon, from 16 cents (67
Del. Laws ¢ 582; HB 777).

Permitted payment of tax via hand delivery and electronic funds transfer. Increased the
penalties on gasoline distributors, special fuel licensees, and motor carriers for failure to
file reports or pay tax (67 Del. Laws ¢ 340; HB 562).

Transferred the Division of Motor Fuel Tax, and its tax administration responsibilities, to
the Department of Transportation (from the Department of Public Safety) (68 Del. Laws c
290; SB 444).

Increased the motor fuel tax rate to 22 cents per gallon (was 19 cents), but left the special
fuel tax unchanged at 19 cents per gallon (69 Del. Laws ¢ 77; HB 350).
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MOTOR FUEL/SPECIAL FUEL TAX

Approved Effective
Date Date Description of Changes

7/1/93  1/1/95 Increased the motor fuel tax rate to 23 cents per gallon, and the special fuel tax rate to 22
cents per gallon, from 22 cents and 19 cents, respectively (69 Del. Laws ¢ 77; HB 350).

7/29/93 10/29/93 Specified that "special fuel" does not include combustible gases and liquids which, prior to
January 1, 1996, were used in a program to determine commercial feasibility of
alternatively-fueled vehicles. The number of vehicles involved in the programs, must not
exceed 10 vehicles or 10% of the taxpayer's vehicles, whichever is greater (69 Del. Laws
c 171; HB 51).

3/22/96  7/1/96 Increased the minimum and maximum surety bond amounts as follows: minimum special
fuel bond from $500 to $5000; maximum special fuel bond from $100,000 to $200,000;
minimum motor fuel bond from $1,000 to $5,000; maximum motor fuel bond from
$100,000 to $200,000 (70 Del. Laws ¢ 311; HB 311).

7/17/98  7/17/98 Prohibited the use of dyed diesel fuel on highways: imposed penalties for violations (71
Del. Laws ¢ 459; HB 669).

6/29/10 7/15/10 Responsibility for oversight of retail dealers was transferred to the Department of

Agriculture as part of the Governor’s initiative to better optimize resources and minimize
the number of unnecessary compliance visits. (77 Del. Laws ¢ 394; SB219).

LICENSE, BOND, FILING PROCEDURES - GASOLINE

Gasoline Retailers License: A gasoline retailer (service station) must obtain an annual license from the Motor
Fuel Tax Administration to engage in the retail sale of gasoline. The license fee is $5.00, and the license
application (Form MFT-6) must be renewed before July 1st of each year. No reporting is required. In addition,
the retailer must obtain a business (retailer) license from the Division of Revenue.

Gasoline Distributor's License: A gasoline distributor must obtain an annual license from the Motor Fuel Tax
Administration to import and/or export, use, sell, distribute, or manufacture gasoline in Delaware. The license
fee is $10.00, and the license application (Form MFT-2) must be renewed before July 1st of each year.

The distributor's monthly report (Form MFT-1), with remittance, is to be filed on or before the 25th day of the
month for the preceding month's sales. This report shows the gasoline inventories, receipts, disbursements and
amount of tax remitted to the State. Companies or firms with $20,000 or more in combined motor fuel/special
fuel tax liability must remit their tax payments electronically.

Any gasoline distributor must obtain a surety bond (Form MFT-3) in the amount of a three (3) month's tax

liability (minimum $5,000, maximum of $200,000) before a license can be issued. Gasoline distributors also
must obtain a wholesaler's license from the Division of Revenue.
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MOTOR FUEL/SPECIAL FUEL TAX
LICENSE, BOND, FILING PROCEDURES - SPECIAL FUEL

Special Fuel Dealer's License: Persons or firms that handle special fuels at retail, or that deliver fuel into
supply tanks of motor vehicles they do not own, must obtain a special fuel dealer's license from the Motor Fuel
Tax Administration, unless they pay the applicable tax to their supplier(s). A license is required for each
separate place of business or location where special fuels are stored or placed into motor vehicles' fuel supply
tanks. The monthly tax report (Form SF-4), totalizer report (Form SF-24), and tax remittance must be
submitted on or before the 25th day of each month for the preceding month's sales. In addition, each special
fuel dealer must obtain a retailer's license from the Division of Revenue.

Special Fuel User's License: Persons or firms that place special fuel into their own motor vehicle(s), from any
source other than a licensed dealer or supplier, must obtain a special fuel user's license from the Motor Fuel
Tax Administration. A license is required for each separate place of business or location where special fuels are
stored. Any person who is both a user and a dealer of special fuel must obtain both the user's and dealer's
licenses. Users must make a monthly tax report (Form SF-4) and tax remittance on or before the 25th day of
each month, for the preceding month's use.

Special Fuel License Fees: The annual license fee for any special fuel license is $10.00. The corresponding
license application (Form SF-1) must be renewed before July 1st of each year. A surety bond (Form SF-3) in
the amount of three (3) month's tax liability--not less than $5,000, but not more than $200,000--is required
before a license can be issued.
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